New Pathways to Health Initiative Receives Multi-Year Commitment

The New Pathways to Health Initiative  was recently awarded a three-year commitment with The Rogosin Institute ( through its Dreyfus Health Foundation (DHF) division. The W.K. Kellogg Foundation is providing financial support for this work.

The New Pathways to Health Initiative is serving people in five Mississippi Delta counties: Bolivar, Coahoma, Quitman, Sunflower, and Tallahatchie. Expanding from last year’s pilot, the New Pathways to Health Initiative is focused on health education, workforce development, and civic engagement with youth (6th through 12th grade), college students, and healthcare practitioners. Lead partners working with DHF include the Aaron E. Henry Community Health Services Center, Inc., Tri-County Workforce Alliance, and Mississippi Office of Nursing Workforce. These groups are partnering with universities, community colleges, and healthcare facilities in the Delta region of northwest Mississippi to address critical healthcare workforce shortages and reduce health disparities. The University of Mississippi Center for Population Studies/Institute for Community-Based Research is providing research, evaluation, and developmental services for the initiative.

CPS Director Dr. John J. Green recently delivered a presentation in New York City concerning his decade of work in collaboration with DHF, and he highlighted the New Pathways to Health Initiative to an audience at The Rogosin Institute.

This entry was posted in Institute for Community-Based Research, New Pathways to Health Initiative. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s